What About Us Border Babies?


The 90210 gang were the quintessential Xers and they rocked my youth.

I’ve always known that being born in the late 70s put me in the nebulous gray area when it comes fo generational labels and identity. Today, as I was chatting with my sister and she kept referencing me as an “X,” I thought to myself perhaps, I had misled my legion of readers on this site into thinking I was a “wannabe Gen-Xer” when in fact I am an Xer according to this site.

So what are the key characteristics of an Xer? (I’m  totally lifting this btw)

Values:

  • Contribution
  • Feedback and recognition
  • Autonomy
  • Time with manager

Attributes:

  • Independence
  • Adaptability

Work Style:

  • High-quality end results
  • Productivity
  • Balance between work and life—work to live not live to work
  • Flexible work hours/job sharing appealing
  • Free agents
  • See self as a marketable commodity
  • Comfortable with authority but not impressed with titles
  • Technically competent
  • Internal promotion
  • Ethnic diversity

I can’t tell if this is a case I often find when reading my astrological sign (Libra) where every attribute speaks, “me!” but generally this reference does a pretty good job of describing my approach to work and the things I value. Realistically, I don’t see myself as a Yer but I know that employers often see me outwardly as one, so maybe the analogy we can make here is Y is my sun sign and X is my moon sign and they can co-exist peacefully within the complicated realm that is my head and every once in a while I can completely baffle people with my mix of X-Y attributes and by the very fact that I cannot and will not be labeled so superficially.

And on that note, I’m going to go and meditate on this one…

If you want to find out what you are or know who you are but are curious to know what others think you are, go here. It might help explain your parents too. (i.e., I thought my dad was a baby-boomer, but turns out he was a “traditional”)

2 Comments on “What About Us Border Babies?”

  1. […] upon her take on the generational differences between Gen Xers, Yers, and Baby Boomers. I’m a cusp child, but closer to the Gen X mindset – at least when it comes to conducting myself in the […]

  2. […] upon her take on the generational differences between Gen Xers, Yers, and Baby Boomers. I’m a cusp child, but closer to the Gen X mindset – at least when it comes to conducting myself in the […]


Leave a Reply

