Be Thankful, Damnit!


Gobble. Gobble.

In healthier economic times

I recall one Thanksgiving when I was in college when I was sitting at the older sister’s house in the dining room and we went around the turkey table detailing one thing we were thankful for. I haven’t been too faithful to this tradition (call it lack of discipline), but it doesn’t mean I don’t give thought to the things that make me all warm and fuzzy inside at least once a year. This year I’ve decided to take inventory online.

Drum roll please…

  • Blogging – When done right it can be a  constructive means of collecting thoughts, innovating, and bonding with other like-minded folk. And as a networking tool for the “brand of you,” pretty fab.
  • Twitter – So I wasn’t an early adopter and it took a while to get with the program, but I slowly understood the power of Twitter as a promotional vehicle. Not to mention apps like TweetDeck and HelloTxt that make it so easy to aggregate and align all my status updates across Facebook, LinkedIn, and any other network I decide I “need” to join. Besides, how can you not love an app that connects people by way of their shared minute-to-minute compulsive twittering AND takes allows us a vital distraction in our mundane lives?
  • Wading in the Calm – As impatient as we are with life, especially in such a fast-paced high tech world where we’ve come to expect on-demand 24-7, digging a little deeper sometimes can prove fruitful. This can happen when we get laid off a job, suffer a major personal setback, or just feel down in the dumps, often as a result of the former and latter. It’s also consolation to know professional and personal contacts don’t need to be compartmentalized as far as job networking and emotional healing go. They can be one and the same.
  • Digging Football – I squirm. I become irate. I scream expletives. Apart from blogging, watching NFL is my outlet for aggression. Moreover, it also makes me a believer. With the exception of my husband, there aren’t too many things that do that for me.
Leave a Reply

